Remember to Take Breaks

The hardest part of productivity is the rest periods.

Allison Fleck
2 min readOct 21, 2020
Photo Credit: Angelina Kichukova, Unsplash

Sometimes the hardest part of forward process is remember to take breaks.

Runners need rest days. Pomodoros require regular breaks. Two steps forward require one step back.

When racing toward productivity and goals, sometimes we forget that we need to take a deep breath and slow down for a second. We need to stop racing towards our goal and lift our heads up, look around, and acknowledge that progress that has been made. We need to take our eyes off the prize for a second and realize that right now, this moment, is a prize.

There needs to be room in every life to be here and now.

I generally work 14–16 hours a day.

I work that much time while raising three kids, running a business, and maintaining a side hustle. In the spring, I will (with a little luck) add graduate school to the mix.

I live within the same 24 hours that we are all given each day. I also have been gathering gray hairs at an alarming rate lately.

I do this because I have some very concrete goals that I’m working towards which include getting out of debt, paying for my childrens’ college educations, and retiring comfortably well before I hit the age of 65.

--

--

Allison Fleck

Data analyst and life analyst. Proud maker of mistakes. A big fan of learning lessons the hard way.